Currency and Banking in Singapore

The national currency of Singapore is the Singapore Dollar – SGD. To check your countries currency against the Singapore Dollar visit   The local currency is in dollars and cents. Coins come in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents and SGD 1. Notes come in denominations of SGD 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 10 000.

Brunei currency is readily accepted as it is at par with the Singapore currency. All banks and merchants in Singapore are obliged to accept Brunei currency notes and coins. Major shopping centres and departments stores also trade in US, Australian, Yen and British Pound.
Most banks change foreign currencies and accept travellers’ cheques – a passport is required for these transactions and a small commission will be charged. Some banks will not change money on a Saturday.

Many shopping centres and hotels also have money changing abilities. We highly recommend you only change money where you see the sign “Licensed Money Changer”.

Banking Hours –

  • Monday to Friday 10am – 3pm
  • Saturdays 9.30am – 1pm / 3pm
  • Sundays 9.30am to 3pm (only some banks on Orchard Road)

Major credit cards are accepted by establishments in Singapore. However, it is advised that you use cash for small purchases, market shopping and roadside stalls.

Most Popular